Our Staff

Jennifer Vieth – Executive Director
Jessie Eckroad – Outreach Program Coordinator
Glen Hill – Development Director
Mayme Johnson – Program Director, Summer Camp Director, Intern Coordinator
Marty Lynch – (651) 480-0572 – Maintenance Foreman
Alan Maloney – Interpretive Naturalist, Rental Coordinator, Volunteer Coordinator
John McPherson – Horticulturist
Clare Neenan – Natural Resources Specialist
Linda Polglase– Administrative Assistant


CNC has trained hundreds of interns over the past 35 years in the fields of Environmental Education, Horticulture, Natural Resources, and Communications.

COMING SOON: Stay tuned to this page as we profile current and past CNC interns.

Are you a college student or recent graduate looking to gain hands-on experience to assist you in your future career? Apply to be a CNC intern!


Volunteers are critically important to helping Carpenter Nature Center fulfill our mission. Some volunteer weekly, while others support our special events, which occur several times a year. Whether you are looking for some professional experience, like to be outdoors, want to share your knowledge with children, or just want to stay busy, CNC can provide a rewarding volunteer experience.

Learn more about being a volunteer at CNC

Board of Directors

Carpenter Nature Center is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, all of whom actively support our mission and goals.

Board of Directors

President                      Troy Weathers, Hastings, MN, President of Provincial Bank of Hastings 

Vice President              Abra Hovgaard, Red Wing, MN Financial Adviser, Edward Jones

Treasurer                     James Freund, Hudson, WI retired 3M Financial Director

Secretary                     Curt Mages, Hastings, MN former owner NYCO, Inc.

Past President            Tim Power, Afton, MN, Government Affairs Director, MN Nursery & Landscape Assn.

Member                       J. Daniel Baasen Wayzata, MN, Senior V.P. Northland Securities

Member                       Vickie Batroot, Stillwater, retired MN site director 3M Cottage Grove plant

Member                       Laurie Bauer, Inver Grove Heights, MN, Senior Director, Himle Rapp & Co., Inc.

Member                       Jay Griggs, Hudson, WI, retired owner & publisher, Hudson, R. F. & Ellsworth papers

Member                       Gary Griswold, Hudson, WI, retired attorney for 3M Company

Member                       Don Kern, Prescott, WI, Engineering & Facilities Manager, Flint Hills Resources

Member                       Rep. Denny McNamara, Hastings, MN co-owner Hoffman & McNamara Co.

Member                       Steve Messick, Hastings, MN retired Publisher/Director of RiverTown Newspaper

Member                       Colleen Moran, Lake Elmo, Landscape Design and Horticultural Professional

Member                       Sarah Neitz, Cottage Grove, MN, Award-winning K-12 Science Teacher

Member                       Scott Northard, Hastings, MN, V.P. Licensing & Common Services, Xcel Energy

Member                       John Tinucci, Woodbury, MN, co-owner, Colossal Café restaurants

Member                       Jim Weglewski, Woodbury, MN V.P. of Lean Sigma & Quality Systems, Andersen Corp

Honorary Board

Gordon Bailey, Jr.       Cottage Grove, MN, Owner, Bailey’s Nurseries, Inc

Larry Fussell                Calistoga, CA retired Information Technology Manager with Chevron

Vance Grannis, Jr.       Inver Grove Heights, MN Grannis, Grannis & Hauge Law Firm

Robert Setzer               Troy, WI, retired owner and operator Setzer’s Pharmacy

Daryl Standafer           Hudson, WI, retired Senior Vice President, Citizens State Bank

Tom Thomsen             Stillwater, MN, retired Plant Manager, NSP Bayport

Wendy Wustenberg     Farmington, MN, retired Governor’s Aid & political lobbying consultant