Our Board of Directors

Carpenter Nature Center is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, all of whom actively support our mission and goals.

Paul Gerbec, River Falls, WI.

Paul joined CNC’s Board in 2018. He is a resident of River Falls, WI, and travels across the country as an Environmental Engineer for 3M. From a young age, Paul enjoyed being outdoors fishing, camping, and backpacking, and that affinity for the environment has continued into his adulthood. As a student at Michigan State, and Miami of Ohio, he studied Chemical Engineering and Zoology. His education set the stage for his work at the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, Environmental Consulting in Michigan, and now, his career with 3M.

James Freund, Hudson, WI.

Jim has been on the CNC Board since 2008, and serves as chair of its Finance Committee. He retired from 3M as finance director of the Consumer & Office Business. He worked at 3M for 35 years and is a Certified Management Accountant. Jim is also a member of the Town of Troy Park Board, Hudson, WI and is a neighbor to CNC’s Wisconsin Campus.

Scott Northard, Hastings, MN.

Scott joined CNC’s board in 2016 serving on the Development Committee. He lives in Hastings, and works as Xcel Energy’s Site Vice President at the Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant. As a member of the Hastings Rotary Club, Scott volunteered in rebuilding CNC’s three-tiered Ravine Overlook Deck, which is used to access the ravine floor and observe wildlife at treetop level. He recently hosted an Xcel Energy Day of Service at CNC.

Jaber Alsiddiqui, Apple Valley, MN.

A native of Kuwait, Jaber came to the U.S. to pursue is MBA after receiving a degree in accounting from Kuwait University. He became a Chief Budget Analyst for Saint Paul Public Schools, and later a Controller for Lakeville Public Schools, the position from which he retired in 2017. He joined the CNC board because of his life-long passion to protect the environment through stewardship and education.

Laurie Bauer, Inver Grove Heights, MN.

Laurie joined CNC’s Board in 2012. With more than 20 years of marketing and communications experience, Laurie brings her expertise as chair of the Development Committee, as well as supporting the annual events such as Masters of the Sky and the Autumn in the Valley Gala. She has served on the boards of the South St. Paul Education Foundation and the Andersen Corporate Foundation.

Gary Griswold, Hudson, WI.

Gary has served on CNC’s Board since 2003. He has lived on the St. Croix River near Carpenter Nature Center’s Wisconsin campus for nearly 40 years. Gary worked as an attorney and/or in management for 3M from 1972 to 2008.

Don Kern, Prescott, WI.

Don joined CNC’s Board in 2001. Don is a long-term employee of Flint Hills Resources, where he works with several nature organizations to find a balance between the industrial property use and setting aside critical natural areas. Don was instrumental in the Trailside Lodge project, volunteering countless hours to relocate and renovate the building, which was donated by Flint Hills Resources.

Steve Klein, Hudson, WI.

Steve Klein joined the CNC board in 2020. He is retired from his role as President and COO of American Security & Investigations in Saint Paul. He currently plays an active role in CNC’s Endowment Committee, Facilities Committee, and Autumn in the Valley Gala Planning Committee.

Steve Messick, Hastings, MN.

Steve has been a member of CNC’s Board since 2004. He recently retired as the Publisher/Director of RiverTown Multimedia after a 40-year career in newspapers. Steve has served on every committee and as Board President and has contributed many woodworking projects that benefit CNC.

Sarah Neitz, Cottage Grove, MN.

Sarah joined CNC’s Board in 2013 leading the Program Committee. She has been a teacher for 18 years, currently at Oltman Middle School, where she also serves as the AVID coordinator. She has been honored as Teacher of the Year. Sarah is co-head coach for Girls Varsity Soccer for Park High School. She is working to enhance connections between schools and the nature center.

Tim Power, Afton, MN.

Tim has been a member of CNC’s board since 2001 and is Past President. He was an employee and then co-owner of Law’s Nursery in Denmark Township. Tim has been active in the Minnesota Nursery and Landscape Association for almost 40 years, serving on committees and their Board of Directors while at Law’s, and as a government affairs consultant and employee at MNLA from 2010 until his retirement in June 2016.

Scott Sharp

Steve joined the CNC Board in 2021. He is is the Vice President of Energy Supply Operations at Xcel Energy where his main focus is leadership development and the transition to 100% carbon free energy production. Scott enjoys the outdoors, spending time with the family boating, camping, and hiking. He also has a passion for hockey—both playing and coaching! Scott also serves on the Board of the United Way, the NuScale Advisory Board, and the Small Modular Reactor (SMR) Start Board for development and promotion of next generation nuclear technology.

Honorary Board

Dan Baasen

Gordon Bailey Jr.

Vickie Batroot

Jay Griggs

Daryl Standafer

Tom Thomsen

Wendy Wustenberg